Belize Mayors’ Association

In a spirit of solidarity:
1) to network with all stakeholders at Local, Regional and International levels.
2) to pursue a process that will enhance good governance
3) to encourage greater community participation and involvement
4) to invest in general public education in matters of Municipal Affairs
5) to promote foreign and local investments in our municipalities

6) to embrace ethnic diversity through the promotion of culture.

To enhance the quality of life of people in our municipalities.

Town and City Councils

There are seven (7) towns and two (2) cities that operate at the sub-national level in the government structure of Belize. These towns and cities are headed by an elected Mayor who is regarded as the Accounting Officer of the city or town council. In the case of Belize City there is an exception; the City Administrator is the Accounting Officer. These municipal authorities are governed under the separate pieces of municipal legislations namely the Belize City Council Act, Belmopan City Council Act and the Town Council Act. Elections for town and city governments are held every three years on the first Wednesday in March.


The next round of municipal elections is scheduled for March 2021. These elections are conducted in accordance with the Representation of the People’s Act, Revised Edition 2011. While the town and city councils act independently of each other, but in accordance with their respective primary legislation, an advocacy body known as the Belize Mayors’ Association provides collective support on behalf of the town and city governments. The Association is currently headed by the Mayor of Belmopan.